My teaching style

Sometimes I get asked how I would describe my teaching style. And I can honestly say that my teaching style is an amalgamation of a series of wonderful fictional educationalists. And not to mention, my mum. All of which I shall now explain through the power of gifs.

1. First and foremost: Mary Poppins. Although I have not yet reached my life goal of being practically perfect, I owe a lot to supercalifragilistic lady. She taught me how to treat children with fairness and firmness. She takes no nonsense but still has an enormous about of fun with the children. She makes learning and chores into games and this is exactly what I want to inspire in my classroom. Not to mention she can sing very well at the drop of a flower brimmed hat, which is something I am personally aspiring to achieve.

tumblr_n56qmhjnho1qicfexo1_250.gif

2. I would like to think that I am very Professor McGonagall in my non-verbal behaviour management…But I think currently, my teaching style is more accurately portrayed by Professor Sybil Trelawney. I am incredibly odd in the classroom. In fact, I swear by it in getting the children’s attention sometimes. Also I hope I come across as being as enthusiastic to learning as Professor Trelawney does to divination. Also if I can ever channel her ability to use her voice to create both suspense and surprise, I’d rather be a Trelawney than a McGonagall any day.

664f2420-ce2d-0131-dde0-2246ba670d3b

3. I also think there is a dash of School of Rock’s Dewey Finn in my teacher personality. Though I can confirm I have less hangovers and I am not posing as a substitute teacher. I am a big big advocate of music in the classroom and only wish I had more confidence and talent to turn more key objectives into musical masterpieces. Furthermore, I enjoy his appreciation of food. So yes class, I will be eating three packets of crisps for my lunch today.

tumblr_n8gi59pA3T1sib1fxo1_500

f754d8b16db3d05e6a7a3de76eaca9ac

4. And quiet a lot of my teaching personality comes from my mum. My mum has spent many years working with children (she is, in my eyes, the actual Mary Poppins complete duck umbrella) and I have learnt many things from her and memories of growing up.

Patience is a big one. Boy oh boy was she patient. I try to use this patience as much as possible in the classroom, and from observations, it turns out I am pretty good at it too.

Also, I have learnt how to put children first from her. My mum did everything she could to give me and my brother the best time whilst we grew up. She always knew how to keep us busy, entertained and challenged. I hope I can be just as responsive to the needs of the children in my class and remember to always put them first.

And she taught me that “practise makes perfect”. And as much as I believe that perfection shouldn’t always be the finite goal, she certainly taught me (and continues to teach me) never to give up. I hope I can inspire this same resilience in my kiddos.

Also frowning at children with your hands on your hips is really effective.

handsonhips_zpsfd64065b.gif

How would you describe your teaching style?

miss moon sig

Leave a Reply

