June Favourites

June favourites.jpg

Favourite Album: Cleopatra by the Lumineers. A little late to the party with this but I adore every song on this album. Currently, my favourite song is Ophelia. I currently play this about 20 times a day!

Favourite Song: Cringe by Matt Maeson

Favourite Book: The Power by Naomi Alderman. If you are a fan of The Handmaids Tale, Gone Girl or The Hunger Games then I would recommend! This dystopian novel is set in a future world in which women develop an electrical power which comes to threaten the dominance and confidence of men in many countries and societies. It is an interesting feminist read which is pacy and thoroughly memorable! But no spoilers I haven’t finished it yet!

Favourite TV Show: GLOW (The Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling) on Netflix, based upon the real show of the 1980s. I didn’t think I would like this show but it is written by the same minds behind Orange is the New Black so it peaked by curiosity. I was not disappointed and I have a new found respect (maybe even obsession) with female wrestling.

Despite a slow start and a main character that is sometimes quite annoying, the show is so satisfying in its range of female characters which each develop their own wrestling persona and costume (which is so satisfying to watch) and it serves as an excellent origin story for future series. The show is also really funny and it is refreshing to watch a TV series that is so female dominated. I practically let my dinner burn in the oven watching the last episode. Plus it has given me false confidence in my own body strength and has motivated me to try even harder with my bed-body-slams. Sorry boyfriend.

Watch the trailer here.

source.gif

Favourite Game: Horizon Zero Dawn (PS4). I will never tire of running around like a badass immortal Ygritte and smashing dinosaurs. It’s that simple. Plus the game is visually stunning with a cinema-worthy plot.

tumblr_ombbrfpkZp1ukholjo1_500.gif

Favourite Film: Hunt for the Wilderpeople (Netflix). I can’t get enough of this film. I keep wanting to watch it this month! The film is about a debatably delinquent boy, Ricky Baker and his foster Aunt and Uncle (Sam Neill: Think Jurassic Park) in the bush of New Zealand. When social services attempt to come and collect him again, Ricky runs away into the bush only to be shortly followed by his Uncle. A funny, beautifully filmed, “Catch me if you can” style chase ensues when the police believe his Uncle has kidnapped him. I can’t explain the genius of this film so watch the trailer here. 

 

So that’s what I have been enjoying in the month of June!

I would love to hear your favourites from the month. Here is my monthly template if you fancy joining this monthly post on your blog or Instragram! I would love to see them so don’t forget to tag me!

June favourites.jpg

miss moon sig

Leave a Reply

